About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

2018 contest winners recognized
at 30th annual Awards Day

Front row, from left, Isabella Osborn, Trebor McQueen, Chase Taft, Ellie Melton. Back row, from left, Charles Kaska, Kaye Ratliff, Corra Covington, Zoha Ali, and William Rocky Carpenter.

     The Anson County Writers' Club (ACWC) held its 30th annual Awards Ceremony in the Little Theater of the H.B. Allen Library on Feb. 24, recognizing winners of the 2018 contests in prose and poetry. The first contest was held in 1989, the year the club was organized.

     The contests are divided into Youth (grades 3-6, 7-9, and 10-12) and Adult. Judges were members of the Union County Writers' Club, who read the anonymous entries and returned the results, which were matched to names held by the contest committee. The winners were notified the second week in February. The contest committee was composed of Kaye Ratliff, Beverley Getzen, and Randy Tarlton.

     Ratliff, ACWC President, welcomed the winners and their families and friends. "The Anson County Writers' Club's mission is to foster the art of writing and to promote the love of reading and learning in Anson County," she said.

     First place in Youth Poetry, grades 3-6, went to Isabella Osborn, Peachland-Polkton Elementary School, for "Sunset in Summer". Trebor McQueen, Morven Elementary School, won second place for "The Sun". Also in grades 3-6, Ellie Melton, Ansonville Elementary School, won first place in Youth Prose for "A Strange Key"; and Chase Taft, Ansonville Elementary School, won second place for "The Haunted House."

     Winner of Youth Poetry grades 7-9 was William Rocky Moore, Anson High School, for "A Grandma's Love". Zoha Ali of Anson Middle School won first place in Youth Prose grades 7-9 for "Over"; and Corra Covington placed second for "Don't Sugar Coat It".

     There were no winners in Youth Poetry or Prose in grades 10-12.

     Adult Poetry winners were: first place, Kaye Ratliff of Wadesboro for "Goth"; and second place, Mario Kersey of Raleigh for "The Poem Cried". Charles Kaska of Heath Springs, S.C., won first place in Adult Prose for his short story, "The Assignation".

     A special award of an engraved plaque was given to Randy Tarlton in recognition of all he has done "behind the scenes" in making the Awards Ceremony go smoothly over the past years.

     Following the awards of certificates, cash prizes, and a copy of "Anson Pathways X", an anthology of the winning entries from 2016, 2017, and 2018, the winners and their guests were invited to a reception of punch and finger foods.

     For more information about the Anson County Writers' Club, its mission and activities, please visit www.ansoncountywritersclub.org. The anthology, "Anson Pathways X" is available for $5 at the Anson County Arts Council. It may also be ordered from amazon.com

BACK to contest page