About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

Congratulations to
our 2016 winners!

Front row, from left, Angalique Marya Pratt, Charity Harris, Cale Melton, Lawson Grant Woods, and Anna Claire Davis. Back row, from left, Rufus Getzen, Tracy Preslar, Kaye Ratliff, John Marak, Katelyn Howell, and Airyn Jones.

Anson writers recognized at awards ceremony

     Anson County authors received certificates of honor and cash prizes at the Anson County Writers’ Club’s 28th Awards Ceremony, held in the Little Theater in the H.B. Allen Library Feb. 26.
     ACWC president Kaye Ratliff welcomed the winners of the 2016 contests in prose and poetry and their families. “There is a lot of talent in this county and we want to foster that talent.” Ratliff said. The club does this through the annual contests, bringing public recognition to the winners, and offering workshops, lectures, and readings that are open to the public, she said.
     Beverley Getzen and Randy Tarlton, contest co-chairmen, awarded the prizes. “There is amazing creativity in this county,” Getzen said. She added, “Kudos to the teachers for encouraging their students to enter.”
     Awards in each category were:
     Youth Prose, grades 3-6: first place, “A Simple Life Princess Fairy Tale” by Charity Harris; and second place, “Walmart Princess” by Angalique Mary Pratt, both of Lilesville Elementary School.
     Youth Poetry, grades 3-6: first place, “A Wonderful Place Called Heaven” by Cale Melton; second place, “My First Deer” by Lawson Grant Woods; and third place, “Beautiful Beach” by Anna Claire Davis, all of Ansonville Elementary School.
     First place in Youth Prose, grades 10-12, went to Katelyn Howell for “Rise.” Airyn Jones won first place in Youth Poetry, grades 10-12, for “Starry Night.” Both attend Anson County Early College.
     John Marak of Wadesboro won first place in the Adult Prose contest for his short story, “Bandito.”
     Adult Poetry winners were Rufus Getzen, first place for “Cyrus;” Kaye Ratliff, second place for “Loving Peter Pan;” and Tracy Preslar for “Catching Memories.” All reside in Wadesboro.
Preslar, a teacher at Ansonville Elementary School, counted three of her students among the winners.
     Following the awards ceremony, attendees enjoyed refreshments and punch.
     The annual contests open in September and close in December. Entries are judged by members of the Union County Writers Club who do not see the names of the authors.
     The Anson County Writers’ Club meets from 3-5 on the fourth Sunday of each month except July and December. All meetings are open to the public.

BACK to contest page