About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

Winners of the 2015 contests in prose and poetry. Congratulations!

Front row, from left, are Savannah Sommerville, Libby Allen, and Vontarya McBride. Back row, from left, Airyn Jones, Mario Kersey, Ruth Hickman, and Erin Kelley.

Front row, from left, are Stetson Sessions, Sarah Lang, Princess Love, and Kayle Latchman. Back row, from left, Tyheem Carelock, Audrey Hyatt, Labdhi Shah, Dexter Jones, Lynlee Martin, and Kiara Horne.

Writing contest winners awarded

Winners of the 2015 annual contests in prose and poetry were awarded cash prizes and certificates at a ceremony held at the Little Theater in the H.B. Allen Library on Feb. 28. The contests are sponsored by the Anson County Writers’ Club.

ACWC president Kaye Ratliff welcomed the winners, their friends and families. Beverley Getzen, contest chairman, called the winners to the podium to read a selection from their entry. Contest committee members Ruth Hickman and Randy Tarlton handed out the prizes.

Ruth Hickman won twice in the adult category, garnering first place for her essay, “Lasting Fragrance” and second place for her poem, “My Sole/Soul Bucket List.” Mario Kersey won first place for his poem, “Family Reunion” and Libby Allen won second place for her memoir, “Seining Trip at Brown Creek.” Both Kersey and Allen have won awards in previous contests.

Airyn Jones, Anson High School, won first place for her short story, “You’re Not Alone” in the grades 10-12 category.

Poetry winners in grades 10-12 were Vontarya McBride, Anson County Early College, for “When a Poet Dreams”; Savannah Sommerville, home schooled, for “Who Are You?”; and Erin Kelley, ACEC, for “The Final Act.”

Winners in the grades 3-6 prose category were Labdhi Shah, Peachland Polkton Elementary School, for “The Boy Who Saw a Leprechaun”; Stetson Sessions, Ansonville Elementary School, for “No Technology”; and Sarah Lang, Wadesboro Primary School, for “The Story of Horse, Fish, and Turtle”. Winning Honorable Mentions were Adeline Cavenaugh for “The Enchanted Forest”; Kiara Horne for “The Wonder Crew of Wonder”; and Tyheem Carelock for “Deer”. All attend Wadesboro Primary School.

Poetry awards in grades 3-6 went to Audrey Hyatt, PPES, for “Softball Life”; Gregory Covington, AES, for “Football for Life”; and Lynlee Martin, AES, for “My Dream”. Awarded Honorable Mention were Kayle Latchman, WPS, for “Mothers Day”; Dexter Jones, PPES, for “The Big Win”; and Princess Love, WPS, for “Great Job”.

Ratliff concluded the ceremony by urging the winners to keep on writing.

A reception with finger foods and punch followed the awards presentation.

The annual contests have been held since 1989. Members of the Union County Writers’ Club judged the 2015 entries.

An anthology of the 2013, 2014, and 2015 winners, Anson Pathways IX, will be available later this year.

Click HERE for photos of 2014 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2013 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2012 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2011 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2010 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2009 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2008 contest winners.

Click HERE for photos of 2007 contest winners.

BACK to contest page