About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

26th Annual Contest Winners

Winners of the 2014 contests in prose and poetry were recognized Feb. 22 at the H.B. Allen Library. Front row, from left, Shmira Dumas, Ghulam Saeeda, Theresa Sommerville, Zaire Rorie, Zakeyia Pratt, Caleb Huza. Back row, from left: Ariel Mamer, John Witherspoon, Gina Clarke, Chastity Kellock, Libby Allen.

26th Annual Awards Day

     The Anson County Writers’ Club recognized winners of the 2014 contests in prose and poetry at the 26th annual Awards Day Ceremony on Feb. 22 at the H.B. Allen Library.
     Cash prizes and certificates were given to the winning entrants, after which they and their families enjoyed a reception of punch and finger foods.
     Winners in the Youth Prose category (grades 3-6) were: First Place, Ziare Rorie for “Annabelle”; Second Place, Zikeyia Pratt for “The Secret Door”; and Third Place, Caleb Huza for “My Little Dog”.
     Youth Poetry winners (grades 3-6) were: First Place, Bradley Kern for “Birthdays”; and Second Place, Shmira Dumas for “Cupcakes”.
     All Youth winners were from Wadesboro Primary School.
     Youth Prose First Place winner (grades 7-9) was Ghulam Saeeda of Anson County Early College for “The Guilty Victim.”
     Youth Poetry winners (grades 7-9) were: Theresa Sommerville, homeschooled, for “Love”; Second Place, Eukela Little for “21st Century Teenaged Girl”; and Third Place, Julia Lew for “No Matter What I Do”. Little and Lew attend Anson County Early College.
     Youth Prose winners (grades 10-12) were: First Place, Ariel Mamer for “Life and Death”; and Second Place, A’lyssa Gaddy for “Where is the Justice?”. Both are students at Anson County Early College.
     Youth Poetry winners (grades 10-12) were: First Place, Skye Clyburn for “Untouched” and Second Place, Sherman Wallace for “Marching Through the Snow”, both of Anson County Early College; and Third Place, Chastity Kellock of Forest Hills High School for “Blessings”.
     Adult Prose winners were John Witherspoon of Wadesboro, awarded First Place for “My Friend Beedo”; and Gina Clarke of Lilesville, Second Place for “The Stranger.”
     Adult Poetry winners were Libby Allen of Wadesboro, First Place for “The Autumn Cat”; and Carolyn M. Morman of Wadesboro, Second Place for “Son of Africa.”
     The mission of the Anson County Writers’ Club is to foster the art of writing in Anson County. The club meets at 3 p.m. on the fourth Sundays of each month (except July and December) at the Chamber of Commerce In Wadesboro. New members are welcome.

Libby Allen, left, First Place winner in Adult Poetry, chats with ACWC member Ruth Hickman.

Enjoying refreshments after awards were presented.

ACWC President Kaye Ratliff with June and John Witherspoon. John won First Place for his short story.

Kelly Lach, left, third grade teacher at Wadesboro Primary School, talks to Beverley Getzen of the Anson County Writers’ Club. Lach’s students swept the awards in the Youth Prose and Poetry contests.

This is the 26th year the club has celebrated writing in Anson County.

Plenty of snacks to celebrate success!

BACK to contest page