About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

Members Only

Carolinas Writers Conference

Back Porch Stories


      The Anson County Writers' Club fosters the art of writing in Anson County through support, awareness and recognition of all writers -- from the beginner to the published author.
     This is accomplished through regular meetings, workshops, lectures and readings; through our annual contests in prose and poetry culminating in a public awards ceremony; and through our grant program.
     The Anson County Writers' Club meets the fourth Sunday of each month (except July and December) at 3:00 p.m. (see meeting announcement below).

Next Meeting
The ACWC will meet at 3:00 p.m. on Sunday, September 25, 2022, at the First Presbyterian Church fellowship hall. Program: Success Leaves Clues. Why do you admire a certain author? Is it how he or she writes action, description, dialogue, emotions or something else? Bring an excerpt illustrating how the author handles one of the components of the story that you particularly admire. We will look at these passages for clues to the author's success.

The 2022 contests for prose and poetry are now open for submissions. Click on "Annual Contests" in the Menu for rules and entry forms.

On April 10, some ACWC members traveled to Tanglewood Park near Winston-Salem to celebrate Helen Goodman's 90th birthday. Helen is a founding member of the club and the amphitheater at SPCC is named in her honor. Helen was surprised to see us and many memories were shared. From left, Beverley, Sandy, Helen, Randy, and Karen.

Useful links

Writing for Theater or Film

Historical Research Categories

Best Blog Sites

Creative Jobs for English Majors

Charlotte Writers Club

Union County Writers' Club

The North Carolina Poetry Society

The North Carolina Writers' Network

Sit Down and Write Poetry

The Writers Workshop of Asheville

Script Reading

Check the above links often for news of workshops, contests, etc.

Our Published Authors

Kaye Ratliff

Karen MacMurray

Sandy Bruney

Charles Kaska

J.A. Bolton

Leonidas Smith

Anson Pathways XI, an anthology of the 2019-2020-2021 contest winners, is now avilable at the Anson County Arts Council for $5 and at amazon.com

Web Site Design by
Marshall Bruney Media Consultants