About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

Members Only

Carolinas Writers


      The Anson County Writers' Club fosters the art of writing in Anson County through support, awareness and recognition of all writers -- from the beginner to the published author.
     This is accomplished through regular meetings, workshops, lectures and readings; through our annual contests in prose and poetry culminating in a public awards ceremony; and through our grant program.
     The Anson County Writers' Club meets the fourth Sunday of each month (except July and December) at 3:00 p.m. (see venue in meeting announcement below).

We have our photos on Pinterest!

ACWC member Charles Kaska, far left, was awarded second place for his short story, 1/10,000 0f an Inch in the Union County Writers' Club annual contest in prose and poetry. Congratulations to Charles, also author of the novel The Canoeist.

Next Meeting
Sunday, August 26, 2018
3:00 p.m.
Program: "How to Weave Dialogue, Action and Narration in Your Novel" Bring a scene from something you are writing that you want to improve. Bring paper, there will be exercises.

We will meet in the First Presbyterian Church fellowship hall, 208 S. Greene St., Wadesboro.

Scenes from the reception for the winners at the 29th Awards Ceremony held Feb. 25 at the H.B. Allen Library. For photos of the winners, click HERE

Useful links

Charlotte Writers Club

Union County Writers' Club

The North Carolina Poetry Society

The North Carolina Writers' Network

Carolinas Romance Writers

The Writers Workshop of Asheville

Check the above links often for news of workshops, contests, etc.

Our Published Authors

Karen MacMurray

Sandy Bruney

Charles Kaska

J.A. Bolton

Historical Research Categories

Promote Your Book Online

Copies of Anson Pathways, anthologies of past winning entries in the ACWC prose and poetry annual contests, are available at the Anson County Arts Council. $5 for AP IX; $2 for AP I through VIII.

Web Site Design by
Marshall Bruney Media Consultants