About Us


Annual Contests

Grant Program

Writers’ Club awards
2011 contest winners

senior high and adult winners

Left: Winners of the 2011 contests in prose and poetry grades 7-9, 10-12 and adult are, front row, from left, Kayla Jones, Brooke Loftis and Wendy Baker. In the back row are Amber Smith, Leslie H. Wright, Keyara McKnight and Joshua Griffith. (Winners not shown are Emma Goodman, Sasha Burns, Sandy Bruney and Sharon Little.)

winners 3-6 and 7-9

Above: Winners of the 2011 contests in prose and poetry grades 3-6 and 7-9 are, front row, from left, Marley Tarlton, Casey Gathings and Stephanie Carpenter. In the back row are Savannah Sommerville, Amaya Swaney, Justin Duncan and Radiya Amin.

     (February 27, 2012) The Anson County Writers’ Club gave certificates and cash prizes to 17 area writers Feb. 26 in the H.B. Allen Library’s Little Theater. Beverley Getzen, ACWC president, welcomed the winners; and Randy Tarlton and Kaye Ratliff, contest co-chairmen, presented the awards. The ceremony was followed by a reception for the winners and their friends and families.
     Winners of the grades 3-6 poetry contest were: first place, Casey Gathings, Wadesboro Elementary, “Rider;” second Place, Justin Duncan, Lilesville Elementary, “Standing;” and third place, Amaya Swaney, Wadesboro Elementary, “Snow.”
     Prose winners were first place, Savannah Sommerville, Ansonville Elementary, “On the Road;” second place, Radiya Amin, Wadesboro Elementary, “The Purple Fox;” and third place, Marley Tarlton, Ansonville Elementary, “The Hunt or the Hunted.”
     Poetry winner in grades 7-9 was Stephanie Carpenter, Anson New Tech, first place for “Never Say Never.” Joshua Griffith, Anson High, won first place in prose for “The Road to Glory.”

     Poetry winners in the senior high (grades 10-12) division were Kayla Jones, Anson New Tech, first place for “This House;” Keyara McKnight, Anson High, second place for “Brutal Love;” and Wendy Baker, Anson Early College, third place for “Never Forgotten.”
     Winners of the prose contest were Brooke Loftis, Anson High, first place for “The Perception of Happiness;” and Amber Smith, Anson New Tech, second place for “Lyrical Meaning of My Life.”
     Adult winners of the poetry competition were Emma Goodman of Wilmington, N.C., formerly of Polkton. Goodman won first place for her poem, “I Am the Ocean.” Leslie H. Wright of Lilesville won second place for “A Pen in My Hand.” Sasha Burns of Wadesboro won third place for “Freedom to My Soul.”
     Sandy Bruney of Wadesboro won first place in the prose division for “The Bracelet;” Sharon Little of Wadesboro won second place for “The Backdoor;” and Emma Goodman won third place for “9/11/”

BACK to contest page.